Links w/ Kaulie vol. 2

I have learned several things about myself over these last few months of link-collecting:

  1. If the Los Angeles Review of Books tweets a link to an essay review, I will favorite the tweet immediately and read the essay and talk about it a lot.
  2. If The Paris Review posts a link to an interview I will favorite it and read it slowly and think about it a lot.
  3. I just generally like book reviews and interviews an incredible amount. They’re two of my favorite things to read. If you have any brilliant reviews or interviews you think I should read please send them to me or link to them in the comments or something.

Anyway, on to the links:

The Art of Nonfiction No. 6Paris Review interview with Geoff Dyer, who has some very interesting thoughts on genre.

Our Own Device – a review for LARB of The Novel: A Biography, which I want to read ASAP. The review itself gives a fascinating history, and argues for the novel as an “empathy machine” that deserves continued attention.

The Art of Fiction No. 81Paris Review interview with Milan Kundera. A friend recently gave me The Unbearable Lightness of Being and it’s at the top of my to-be-read list.

The Art of Not Belonging – Yet another interview, this one with Edwidge Danticat. She speaks with Guernica about “immigration reform, returning to Haiti in her new book, and why Wikipedia is still “micro-categorizing women writers.”

The Timely History of a Timeless Story – a LARB review of How The Bible Became Holy.

And finally, a treat: “Why Readers, Scientifically, Are the Best People to Fall in Love With

Leave a Reply

