10(ish) Books

If you’re on Facebook (and really, who isn’t) then you’ve seen the “10 Books That Have Stayed with You” lists people are posting. Well, I was tagged and thought I would share my list here as well as on FB. So, these are the books that have “stayed with me,” which I take to mean the books I’ve either reread over & over again OR the books that have fundamentally affected the way I read other books. You’ll just have to guess which is which.

  1. The Secret History, Donna Tartt
  2. The Space Trilogy, C.S. Lewis
  3. The Waste Land, T.S. Eliot
  4. The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down & Ex Libris, Anne Fadiman
  5. Mrs. Dalloway, Virginia Woolf & Virginia Woolf, Hermione Lee
  6. When Women Were Birds, Terry Tempest Williams
  7. The Book of Night Women, Marlon James
  8. Wide Sargasso Sea, Jean Rhys
  9. Jazz, Toni Morrison
  10. Moby-Dick, Herman Melville

Honorable Mentions:

  1. Little Women, Louisa May Alcott
  2. Anna Karenina, Leo Tolstoy

For more books that I’ve read and had strong feelings / opinions about, check out this piece I wrote for The Millions, “A Degree in Books.”

Leave a Reply

