Midnight Updates

Seeing as how my last post was in September 2014, and it’s now July 2015 (nearly), this little blog is probably overdue for an update. There are many reasons for my silence, some of which I’ll explain below, but I’m more than ready to put them behind me and get back to some kind of regular writing schedule. What exactly that is, we’ll see.

So, a year in review: Since September 2015 I have

– Worked for 9 months as a bartender in a sushi restaurant (if you know me at all then you know this is hilarious – me? Kaulie? Behind a bar? Talking to people constantly? And it was admittedly a bit of disaster but I ended up loving the job anyway)

– Worked for Texas Tech University (not my favorite, but so thankful they allowed me to come on board at a time when I desperately needed more structure in my life) (if curious about need for more structure, please see bullet point above)

– Made more friends in Lubbock, TX than I ever hoped for, and spent many, many hours talking with people from all walks of life and all sides of town

– Fought not-so-valiantly against a brutal case of burnout: published a few essays, pitched a few more, but by and large stopped writing (working to remedy this!) (but recovery takes time, so please be patient with me!) (this is mostly a reminder for me to be patient with myself)

– Up and moved to New York City! I sent my resume to Penguin Books on a Tuesday, interviewed for an editorial internship on a Thursday, accepted an offer on Monday, and moved to the city two weeks later. One week into it now and I’m still very much in transition-mode, but so far I’m loving my time here and can’t wait to see what these next 10 weeks have in store (does that sound too cliche? Too ~blessed~? All apologies – I mean every word.)

– Went back to being functionally homeless, with no plan for my life after the end of my internship in August. But, hey, isn’t that what having a sense of adventure is all about?

That’s all the updates I have time for right now, and I apologize for so much navel-gazing and list-making. But at the same time I don’t apologize one bit, and can’t wait to get back into more personal writing. Hope you’ll stick around! And if you have any suggestions for a bookish girl new to New York, please leave them in a comment below! I need all the help I can get, as every person who has had to interact with me this last week can attest.

Leave a Reply

